I remember when I was summon to testify in court about a crime that I witnessed. I replayed the event in my mind over and over again before getting up in the witness-box to give my story of the account. I was ready when my time came to recount the facts.

As we think about evangelism, or if you prefer witnessing, we must also have the facts right. We should do all we can to give Imported Photos 00000an accurate account of the gospel. As a follower of Jesus Christ I want to be ready to share the gospel, using God’s Word and my personal salvation experience to communicate a clear presentation how Jesus impacted and changed my life.

I have written a 30 day evangelistic devotional entitled “The Prepared Witness” to help equip the believer. The intent of the 30 day evangelistic devotional is to prepare you, the reader to understand what is New Testament Evangelism, The church’s role in evangelism, Jesus as our role model, and many other topics found in the Bible.

I have included a portion of the devotion for day one. I pray that you will be challenged and grow into the witness God desires you to be.

Dr. Victor H. Benavides

Day One
Evangelism is about Obedience

Matthew 28:19-20:
Jesus Christ said, “19 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age. Amen.” (NASB)

Focus: In this devotion we want to learn that evangelism is all about obedience. God has commanded Christians to reach lost people with the gospel. He has given us a Divine Mandate to witness. We must obey God’s Word and ask Him to give us the desire and passion to go and tell others about Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior, the One who we owe our very lives to, commanded His followers to tell the world about Him.

The world is in desperate need of a spiritual awakening. The Church is in desperate need to wake up and become the evangelistic organism that God intended the church to be, evangelizing the lost world. God has empowered the church to be able to carry the gospel out into the communities of America. The church has all it needs to see God turn this world upside down, if only God’s people would repent, be obedient and begin witnessing.

For a complete reading of the devotion for Day One from the “The Prepared Witness” go to amazon.com to get a copy of 30 day evangelistic devotional.

Leave a Reply

