12 years ago I struggled with a calling to follow God to lead an inner city evangelism ministry with a mission agency. For three months I prayed, fasted and searched the Scriptures seeking an answer from God whether I should take the position.

On September 1, 2001 I started in my new ministry of taking the gospel into the hard areas, the high risk, high crime areas in cities across the nation. On the morning of September 11th, I was attending a group meeting on “Who Moved My Cheese”! Later that morning I watched the World Trade towers in smoke on fire. I wondered and asked God what He had gotten me into.

God amazed me for ten years as mission teams shared the gospel in the inner cities resulting in thousands of people from all walks of life give their lives to Jesus. Many were Muslim by faith.

This morning as I watched Fox News program on remembering the attack on Americans on 9/11 by Muslim Extremists, the feelings and thoughts came rushing back to my mind. I was starting a new ministry in very uncertain times in America. I am grateful to have served the Lord for those ten years through a national mission agency who had the vision to reaching the cities with the gospel.

I only hope and pray that God will give me another opportunity to lead a ministry again that will reach lost people with the gospel. As a strategist and visionary I continue to dream of a day when churches across America will intentionally, and prayerfully will go into their communities engaging lost people from all cultures and religions and unashamedly proclaim Jesus as Lord and Savior. He is truly the one true way to God the Father.  

Leave a Reply

