How to Accomplish Big Things for God!

Posted: July 31, 2014 in Biblical Truths, Find God, God's Power, Personal Evangelism

In the Gospel of John 15, Jesus tells His disciples that unless they remain in Him they can do not.

Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

Did Jesus really mean that we can nothing at all? No, it means that we can nothing of kingdom significance unless we stay in His Word. We must stay in prayer. We must stay in His presence. Unless we remain in “Him” we cannot do nothing without His Spirit’s power.

We must remain connected to Him, like a branch is connected, drawing nourishment and energy from the life of the Vine. Jesus is our Vine. He is our power and energy to do Kingdom work. Like I have said many times, “We witness out of the overflow of our walk with God.” Well, we preach, we witness, we serve, we live out of the overflow of our walk with God.

Unless we remain in Jesus, we can do nothing.

 

Leave a Reply

