Prison Inmates Listen to Billy Graham

Posted: October 24, 2014 in Missional Evangelism

Dr. Billy Graham is one of my spiritual heroes. After I was saved, I often wondered what it would be like to work for Dr. Graham. I have listened to many of Dr. Graham’s sermons online. I have watched his crusades by television. I even served as a supervisor counselor during the Billy Graham crusade when in Atlanta in 1992-93. I prayed that if God wanted me to work for Dr. Graham to assist in reaching lost people with the Gospel of Jesus Christ that I would be glad to follow in obedience.

June 1, 2014, I started as a contractor with the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association promoting and doing what I do best besides evangelism and that is to develop strategies to implement evangelism. I get to work with pastors and churches and the BGEA with My Hope America 2014 with Billy Graham.

The My Hope emphasis has been bathed in prayer by the entire organization. Everyday, the staff and representatives pray that churches will be led by God’s Spirit to use the My Hope films and for lost people to come to know Jesus as Lord and Savior.

I recently received a story of how one of the Billy Graham videos, The Cross, was shown to inmates in a prison and many made decisions for Christ.

Please read this powerful story from Vernon Greene about a My Hope outreach in a prison last weekend.  This is why we do what we do!

This past weekend, we showed The Cross all day Saturday in a county Jail that holds 2,700 men in western TN.  We showed it seven different times on five different floors.

 The chaplain would introduce us and then I would share a little about Billy Graham, My Hope, the video we were about to watch, a scripture, then pray and press play. Each time we showed the The Cross you literally could have heard a pen drop. They were tuned in and you could see the wheels turning in their heads as they sat and watched and listened intently to Billy, Lecrae and Lacey. We even saw some prison guards, male and female that would come into the services and watch. Then nearing the end of the video, right before Billy would pray, we would stop the program and let the inmates know that Billy was about to give an invitation to invite them repent of their sins and follow Christ, and then pressed play again. Hearing those men pray out loud with Billy was just powerful. It was literally like Billy was in the room praying with them as they followed his lead. At the end, we asked if you prayed to receive Christ for the very first time and/or rededicated your life please raise your hand. They raised their hands, but they also stood to acknowledge it as well when we asked. All six of us took turns asking who made decisions at the end of each session. We then gave discipleship material, shook hands and gave hugs to the inmates as they went out.

 It was so neat seeing murderers, drug dealers, gang and ex-gang members, tuning in and watching intensely. Some of these men would come in with a hard core look on their face, no smiles and by the end going out smiling and embracing us as they went out. Some of these men will only be in for a few days, others for some years, so we know My Hope has made a huge impact on the men in the Jail.

 In total we had 135 guests and saw 89 decisions made- first time and rededications. One of the most amazing and powerful experiences I’ve ever had.

For He has liberated us into freedom”- Gal. 5:1

Joe Mott, Manager, Church Engagement

My Hope – Billy Graham Evangelistic Association

If you are interested in learning how you can participate in My Hope 2014 with Billy Graham and get frees resources, go to the link www.MyHopeWithBillyGraham.org, click and you can sign up and place your order and download free videos.

If you want to speak to a My Hope Representative, find the Area Coordinator tab on the website and find your city or state and contact the nearest representative near you.

Please join us in praying that God would motivate churches all across America to become intentional reaching lost people again and that they would see the value of using the My Hope videos as one evangelistic tool to fulfill the Great Commission.

Leave a Reply

