Does prayerwalking work? I learned how to prayerwalk from Foreign Missionaries while in a foreign country years ago. We prayerwalked for hours each day. I learned how to pray specifically and generally over people, in neighborhoods, in communities, and in the cities. I prayerwalked, prayed on buses, prayed on ferry boats, and on sidewalks. What an experience and mentoring moment it was for me. Having gained this knowledge on prayerwalking, since that time, I have taught and conducted classes on prayerwalking. I have led teams prayerwalking in inner cities and communities all across our nation.

Prayer and Prayerwalking still work. Recently, I received a testimonial from my son, who is Senior Pastor in Georgia. He has been preaching and teaching his church members how to be intentional in sharing the gospel and praying. Recently, he encouraged the church to prayerwalk their children’s campuses. Here is a story how prayer does impact our communities.

“As I sit here and read Colossians 4: 2-6 I want to thank you for your challenge you gave us Sunday. As we visited (our daughter’s) school yesterday I asked the principal, her teacher and her paraprofessional- “How can my family pray for you this year?”  Each was surprised 🙂 but their response was awesome! The teacher and para-pro were appreciative and shocked. They both stated no one has ever asked them “How can my family pray for you this school year” – the para pro- got a little misty eyed and stated – “That gave me goosebumps”.
I’m not sharing this to boost but once again to thank you for listening to God and preparing His words for us each week. Through this opportunity, I believe a door was opened with my daughter’s teacher and para-pro that probably would not have if we just had a simple greeting. Stay in the word, continue to seek God’s will for our church and keep preaching the truth!
Love ya brother,“

What an amazing story! This story contains several important facts for the Christian who is living an intentional Christ-like life. (1) Teachable spirit – church members allowed God’s spirit and their pastor to teach and encourage them how to be intentional Christians. (2) Intentional spirit – church members are obedient to the Great Commission to go and make disciples. (3) Celebratory spirit – God rejoices, but so does the church when we go in obedience and connect people to God through Jesus, through prayer and the gospel.

I will never forget what a teenage drug dealer said, after one our mission teams, on a Saturday morning, had engaged a group of young men with the gospel and prayer. They said, “We cannot know that God loves us unless, you guys, (the church) comes out here and tells us.” If your community does not know God loves them, that the Jesus died for them, and that Jesus rose from the dead and conquered sin, death, and the devil, then go tell them. Then your community will know.

Let me pray for you.

Dear Jesus, we ask that you empower us and sent us out in Your Holy Spirit’s power to go and make disciples. Give us favor with people in our communities. Give us the words to say during each witnessing encounter. And allow us to see people born into Your kingdom by Your Spirit as they believe in You Jesus as Lord and Savior.  In Jesus Name!

Leave a Reply

